What Happens (With My Emails) When I Leave TU Graz?

Please note that you yourself are responsible for handing over official emails to your successors or superiors, you must also back up your private emails yourself, the easiest way to do this is to set up another mailbox in your email client, into which you can then move your private emails using "drag & drop". Some email clients also offer the possibility to create backups of the emails.

On Servers of the OU

For organizational units with "own" (email) servers, according to Rectorate Decision 036/2014, the analogous regulations apply as for the (email) servers of ZID: Accounts are to be deactivated with the day of departure, for email addresses - if desired - a redirection to an alumni email address of TU Graz can be set up via "Mail Routing" in TUGRAZonline.

On Servers of ZID

On the central servers, the (email) accounts are coupled with TU Graz accounts, i. e. as long as the TU Graz account is valid, the (email) account (including forwarding, automatic replies, etc.) is generally also valid, the TU Graz account will be deactivated on the day of leaving.

After deactivation of the TU Graz account, the data (e. g. emails) remain stored for a short time (e. g. in case of erroneous deletion of accounts in TUGRAZonline), after that the data are deleted from the hard disks, but the email filters (forwarding, autoreply, …) already become ineffective with deactivation of the TU Graz account.
Please note that in all systems in which you have stored your TU email address either as a username or as a contact address, e. g. for resetting the password, you should store a new address!
In the TU Graz email system you should set up an automatic reply early enough informing about the new address. This automatic reply will also be deactivated with the end of the account!

Staff Members

Employees, teachers, research fellows, persons in the scientific service, university assistants and contract staff can redirect their email address in the format @tugraz.at to their alumni email address in the format @alumni.tugraz.at via the application "Email Redirection" in the column "Services" in the TUGRAZonline business card in the staff member profile.

Staff Member Businesscard

This redirection can only be set up while the ATP is running and it is necessary to have already activated an alumni address for it:

Activation

If you do not have an alumni address yet, you will be notified:

Hinweis

Note In this case, one must first activate the alumni profile via the "alumni and contact network" application (also in the business card in the staff profile) and then join the alumni association.

The redirection (and thus the former staff email address) remains valid as long as one is a paying member of the alumni association.
If you do not want to receive these emails later (but still want to continue using the alumni address), you can delete the redirection via the TUGRAZonline business card in the alumni profile:

Alumni-Visitenkarte

Deaktivierung

Attention:
In the time between deactivation and deletion of the account, Exchange-internal emails will continue to be delivered to the Exchange mailbox without warning or error message.
However, since you can no longer access them there, you should definitely set up a forwarding to your alumni address via OWA. This forwarding will also be deactivated with the deletion of the account (in contrast to the redirection via TUGRAZonline).

top

Students

For students, generally 2 dates are important: December 17th and May 17th - this is approx. 2 weeks after the end of the post-enrollment period: if no confirmation about the continuation of studies has been received by then, the student profile in the TU Graz account will be blocked and the email address will be deleted - the data in the mailbox, however, only if you are also not (anymore) a member of the alumni association.

If there is a deregistration (e. g. due to graduation) and there is no 2nd active study, then the above mentioned dates are already valid for the current semester (i. e. even if you are still actively registered in the current semester).
Example: You have enrolled for the summer semester, then successfully complete your studies in April, then your account will be closed on May 17th if you have not enrolled for any further studies.

If you successfully complete your studies and can thus become a member of the alumni association for free in the first year, you will still have access to your student emails if you activate an alumni address, as these are stored in the same inbox as the alumni emails, but the student email address will no longer work!

However, since the email address will change in any case (if you are not pursuing another degree), you should set up an auto-reply early enough that informs of the future new address.

And note that with external systems (other email providers, social media accounts etc.) you should check if you have entered your @student.tugraz.at- or your @sbox.tugraz.at-address as recovery address - you should change this, because this address will not exist for much longer.

top

Alumni

Graduates get - if they join the alumni association "alumniTUGraz 1887" (in the first year after successful completion of studies the membership in the association is free of charge) - an email address in the domain alumni.tugraz.at.

This address is then valid as long as you are a (paying) member of the alumni association and points to the same inbox at the server sbox.tugraz.at as a possibly existing student email address, i. e. you have full access to the student emails, but the student email address continues to work only if you pursue further studies (e. g. PhD).

top

Group Mailboxes and Distribution Groups

These addresses will exist until they are deleted by ZID at the request of the TUGRAZonline or IT officers.

top

Was passiert (mit meinen E-Mails), wenn ich die TU Graz verlasse?

Auf Servern der OE

Für Organisationseinheiten mit „eigenen“ (E-Mail-)Servern gelten laut Rektoratsbeschluß 036/2014 die analogen Regelungen wie für die (E-Mail-)Server des ZID: E-Mail-Adressen sind mit dem Tag des Ausscheidens zu deaktivieren, auf realen Servern kann - falls notwendig - in der SMTP-Fehlermeldung (s. u. „Bedienstete“) 24 Monate lang auf eine neue Adresse hingewiesen werden.

Auf Servern des ZID

Auf den zentralen Servern gilt, daß die (E-Mail-)Accounts mit TUGRAZonline-Accounts gekoppelt sind, d. h. so lange der TUGRAZonline-Account gültig ist, genau so lange ist i. Allg. auch der (E-Mail-)Account (inklusive Weiterleitungen, automatischer Antworten etc.) aufrecht, der TUGRAZonline-Account ist mit dem Tag des Ausscheidens zu deaktivieren.

Nach Deaktivierung des TUGRAZonline-Accounts bleiben die Daten (z. B. E-Mails) noch eine gewisse Zeit gespeichert (falls es z. B. zu irrtümlichen Löschungen von Accounts in TUGRAZonline gekommen ist), danach werden die Daten von den Festplatten gelöscht, die E-Mail-Filter (Weiterleitungen, Autoreply, …) werden aber bereits mit Deaktivierung des TUGRAZonline-Accounts unwirksam.

Bitte beachten Sie, daß Sie in allen Systemen, in denen Sie Ihre TU-E-Mail-Adresse entweder als Usernamen oder als Kontaktadresse z. B. für das Zurücksetzen des Kennworts hinterlegt haben, eine neue Adresse hinterlegen sollten!
Im E-Mail-System der TU Graz sollten Sie früh genug eine automatische Antwort einrichten, die über die neue Adresse informiert. Diese automatische Antwort wird mit Ende des Accounts ebenfalls deaktiviert!

Bedienstete

Bedienstete haben die Möglichkeit über das Webinterface „SMTP-Error“ eine neue Adresse bekannt zu geben, die ab Aktivierung 24 Monate lang in der Fehlermitteilung (NDN, DSN, NDR) an den zustellenden Server übermittelt wird (Achtung: Dieses Webinterface ist nur aufrufbar, wenn Sie noch einen gültigen Bediensteten-Account in TUGRAZonline haben!):

   551 5.1.6 User has moved! Please try the following address …

Ob (und wie) der zustellende Server das dann an den Absender zurück gibt, können wir nicht beeinflussen, innerhalb der TU Graz bekommt der Absender eine E-Mail, die folgendermaßen aussieht:

In (schriftlich zu begründenden) Ausnahmefällen kann die Sonderfunktion „Tätigkeit ohne Arbeitsverhältnis zur TU Graz“ zugeteilt werden, die dann accountverlängernd wirkt. Da das rechtliche Probleme (z. B. Lizenzrechte) nach sich ziehen kann, ist das wirklich nur in Ausnahmefällen zulässig, die Leitung der OE, die die Funktion vergibt, haftet und muß die Vergabe schriftlich begründen und diese Begründung für dien Revision im Sekretariat bereit halten.

Auch Bedienstete können dem Alumni-Verein beitreten und damit eine neue E-Mail-Adresse der TU Graz bekommen!

top

Studierende

Für Studierende sind i. Allg. 2 Termine wichtig: der 17. Dezember und der 17. Mai - das ist ca. 2 Wochen nach Ende der Nachinskriptionszeit: wenn bis dahin keine Bestätigung über die Fortsetzung des Studiums eingelangt ist, wird das Studierenden-Profil im TUGRAZonline-Account gesperrt und die E-Mail-Adresse gelöscht - die Daten in der Mailbox aber nur, falls Sie auch dem alumni-Verein nicht (mehr) angehören.

Wenn es zu einer Abmeldung (z. B. durch Studienabschluß) kommt und es existiert kein 2. aktives Studium, dann gelten die oben genannten Termine bereits für das aktuelle Semester (also auch, wenn man im aktuellen Semester aktiv weitergemeldet ist).
Beispiel: Sie haben das Somersemester inskribiert, beenden dann das Studium erfolgreich im April, dann wird Ihr Account am 17. Mai geschlossen, wenn Sie kein weiteres Studium inskribiert haben.

Wenn Sie Ihr Studium erfolgreich beenden und somit im ersten Jahr gratis Mitglied im alumni-Verein werden können, haben Sie bei Aktivierung einer alumni-Adresse auch weiterhin Zugriff auf Ihre Studierenden-E-Mails, da diese in der selben Inbox gespeichert sind wie die alumni-E-Mails.

Da sich die E-Mail-Adresse aber auf jeden Fall ändert, sollten Sie früh genug eine automatische Antwort einrichten, die über die zukünftige neue Adresse informiert.

top

Absolventen

Absolventen bekommen wenn sie dem Absolventenverein „alumniTUGraz 1887“ beitreten (im ersten Jahr nach erfolgreichem Studienende ist die Mitgliedschaft im Verein kostenlos) eine E-Mail-Adresse in der Domain alumni.tugraz.at.

Diese Adresse ist danach so lange gültig, so lange man Mitglied im alumni-Verein ist und zeigt auf die selbe Inbox am Server sbox.tugraz.at wie die Studierenden-E-Mail-Adresse, d. h. Sie haben vollen Zugriff auf die Studierenden-E-Mails, die Studierenden-E-Mail-Adresse funktioniert aber nur dann, wenn ein weiteres Studium (z. B. Doktorat) betrieben wird.

top

Gruppenpostfächer und Verteilergruppen

Diese Adressen bestehen so lange, bis sie auf Antrag des TUGRAZonline- oder EDV-Beauftragten durch den ZID wieder gelöscht werden.

top